loader image

21 August 2023

Storytelling

How to maximize storytelling e-learning?

Setting up the story

A story is all about characters, circumstances, a problem to be solved or a challenge to be me. So, the story being told will have a beginning, a middle and an end.

Storytelling is of particular interest when developing an e-learning course. The evolving story must serve clearly defined, pre-targeted, sound pedagogical objectives.

Characters

The characters developed for the story should enable learners to recognize themselves in their professional context and elicit an emotional response. The learners should be able to identify with a character, a reaction or a question, project themselves into a required task or a behavior, or oppose what is asked and adopt the appropriate behavior.

To create this world where credible characters evolve, a thorough knowledge of the target audience and the context in which they are evolving is crucial. Otherwise, the magic won’t work, and the intended learning may suffer.

Aspects of the characters that will ensure a strong connection with the learners include: being sympathetic or unsympathetic, show similar or different values, arouse emotions such as empathy, curiosity or anticipation.

Creating a proper problem or a challenge

It would be a turn-off for learners to meet characters to whom nothing happens, or who go through a sequence of events without difficulty or conflict, or whose creativity is not called upon in any way to find solutions.

The problems staged will therefore be representative of real difficulties in the learners’ environment and will enable them to experience their resolution

The desire to problem-solve and the excitement this creates will increase motivation and commitment among learners, while transmitting the knowledge and skills targeted by the training.

Using engaging visual representations

The emotional connection and the human quality that are necessary for learning can only be sustained by well-written text, evocative and precise.

However, if the project’s scope allows it, using visual media such as illustrations, photographs or videos adds another layer and helps foster an even greater emotional and reflexive connection in learners.

Interactivity

Can a story be told using interactivity? Or course! Interactive quizzes and feedback can not only move the story along but is also a great way to provide relevant learning content.

Asking questions first, putting the learners, placing them at the center of the action and then confirming or correcting their assumptions, reactions and processes is an approach that is particularly well-suited to adult learners, and is in line with the principles of andragogy.

In addition to visually representing the characters, naming them – Carl, Maëlie, Josée, Ron – helps the target audience learn the skills, notions and abilities they need to improve their performance at work, and justify using storytelling as an approach in training.

Learners will remember what they’ve learned longer and better if they link content to stories.

A guy walks into a… Remember this one?

Partagez!

More articles

More to discover!

Serious games and Gamification

How do you handle difficult, dry subject matter, weighty or critical questions in eLearning and give them their proper standing, while keeping the people they are meant for engaged?
View this blog post

Branching Scenarios, When and Why?

Branching scenarios are particularly well-suited to learning about interpersonal relations, decision-making skills, problem-solving and crisis management, where decisions have to be made under pressure and have far-reaching consequences.
View this blog post

Storytelling

What's easier to remember: charts, bullet lists or stories that someone tells us about? And what's more useful for solving a problem or adopting a behavior? Et qu’est-ce qui est le plus utile pour solutionner un problème ou adopter un comportement?
View this blog post

loader image

21 août 2023

Storytelling

Comment maximiser une trame narrative en e-learning?  

Quelques éléments à mettre en place 

Une histoire, c’est avant tout des personnages, des circonstances, un problème à résoudre ou un défi à relever. Il y aura donc un début, un milieu et une fin. 

Utiliser une trame narrative – storytelling est également un terme employé – apporte un intérêt particulier quand il s’agit de développer une formation en ligne. L’histoire doit servir des objectifs pédagogiques préalablement ciblés et clairement définis. 

Les personnages

Les personnages inventés et inclus dans l’histoire doivent permettre aux apprenants et apprenantes de se reconnaître dans leur contexte professionnel. Ils pourront s’identifier à un personnage, à une réaction ou à un questionnement, se projeter dans une tâche ou un comportement, s’opposer à ce qui est demandé et adopter le comportement approprié.  

Pour arriver à créer un univers habité par des personnages crédibles, il faut donc avoir une connaissance approfondie de la clientèle à qui se destine la formation et du contexte dans lequel elle évolue, sans quoi, la magie n’opérera pas et les apprentissages visés risquent d’en souffrir. 

Les aspects des personnages doivent assurer une connexion émotive avec les apprenants et les apprenantes : ils sont sympathiques ou antipathiques, ils ont les mêmes valeurs ou des valeurs différentes, ils suscitent des émotions comme l’empathie, la curiosité ou l’anticipation. 

Le problème ou le défi 

Il serait peu engageant pour les apprenants et les apprenantes de suivre des personnages à qui il n’arrive rien ou qui vivent une séquence d’événements sans difficulté, conflit ou qui ne voient pas leur créativité sollicitée d’aucune manière pour trouver des solutions.  

Les problèmes mis en scène seront donc représentatifs des difficultés réelles du milieu de la clientèle cible et permettront de vivre la résolution des impasses. 

Le désir de résolution de problème et l’engouement ainsi créés augmentent la motivation et l’engagement chez les apprenants et les apprenantes, tout en transmettant les connaissances et les compétences visées par la formation.  

Utiliser les médias visuels

La connexion émotive et l’aspect humain qui sont nécessaires à l’apprentissage peuvent être soutenues seulement par du texte bien écrit, riche en évocations et en indications de toutes sortes.  

Cependant, lorsque les paramètres du projet le permettent, utiliser des médias visuels comme des illustrations, des photos ou des vidéos apportent une dimension supplémentaire et permettent de susciter un lien émotif et réflexif encore plus grand chez les apprenants et les apprenantes. 

L’interactivité

Est-ce qu’une histoire suivie est incompatible avec de l’interactivité? Pas du tout! Les quiz interactifs et leurs rétroactions peuvent en effet faire progresser l’histoire en plus d’offrir des contenus pertinents aux apprentissages. 

Questionner les personnes en les mettant dans l’action pour ensuite confirmer ou corriger leurs suppositions, leurs réactions, leurs processus s’avère une approche particulièrement adaptée pour la clientèle adulte et répond aux principes d’andragogie.

En plus de les représenter visuellement, nommer les personnages aidera la clientèle cible à assimiler les compétences, les notions, les habiletés qu’il faut pour améliorer leur performance au travail et justifier le choix d’utiliser la trame narrative comme approche dans les formations. 

Les apprenants et les apprenantes se souviendront plus longtemps et mieux de ce qui a été appris s’ils peuvent associer les contenus aux histoires.  

C’t’une fois, un gars… Vous vous rappelez de celle-là? 

Partagez!

Plus d'articles

À voir également

Les scénarios d’embranchement, quand et pourquoi?

Les scénarios à embranchement sont particulièrement bien adaptés à l’apprentissage des relations interpersonnelles, des habiletés décisionnelles, de la résolution de problèmes ou encore de la gestion de crise où la prise de décision doit se faire sous pression.
Lire l 'article